Book Review

The Mortal Instruments;City of Lost Souls

I started this back in February and I still haven’t finished it… Not because I find it boring I love this series but I have had a book splurge, where I read five books in the space of three weeks and when that happens I can’t find myself to pick up a book and read for a while. At the moment I think I have four books on the go and a sample of a book also. 

This universe I do adore and frankly I feel a little bit stalked by this series in all honesty. 

Back in 2007 or 2008 I was in the library with my Dad and as I was also reading books above my 12 years, I saw a book standing out with a half-naked guy on and the title ‘City of Bones’ I thought it looked very interesting and read the back but because it had a shirtless guy on the front I felt a bit embarrassed (I was a 12-year-old girl with her father at the time okay..) Anyway I left it and didn’t think anything of it, I would keep seeing this book every time I went to the library and then when we stopped going I saw the film come out back in 2014 (I can’t remember when the film actually came out) from there I fell in love with the film and read the first and second books but it wasn’t until this year that I picked the books up again and started watching the tv series. 

I can see why I fell in love with the story. The plot is good and the characters are diverse as well as highlighting the darkest and lightest points of people’s personalities. I haven’t read the lat book but have heard some spoilers of it and in all honesty it’s a book. In it people have made mentions of bits that are ‘creepy and wrong’ but it happens sometimes in the world its horrible but true. (I would also like to say to those people read the true stories of child abuse and all those ‘true story’ books that’s sick and disgusting) 

Anyway so far I am enjoying this book, the only thing I don’t like very much is how much Magnus and Alec argue in it every conversation its picky and unkind, not a healthy relationship however i can understand it. Here is a young man with his first love pretty much and he has fallen in love with someone centuries old, multiple lovers and experience of course he will fill inadequate and with all that he has had to deal with yes he is going to feel insecure and lash out. Doesn’t everyone when they have their first ‘real’ partner? Alec is a bit of a dick yes. but at the end of the day it’s about talking to the person and listening which is hard for people to learn. 

I still love the book though… Whelp that’s what I think! 

Have a lovely day or night!

Leave a Reply

